5/10 Back on the fish Levy Bay

Moderators: Talltails, LCallaghan, jsuber

GatorMD97
Baitor
Baitor

5/10 Back on the fish Levy Bay

Post by GatorMD97 »

Took the family and mother-in-law kayaking on the Wakulla for Mother's Day. Had to return the tandem rental today so decided it was a good reason to go fishing since I was down that way. Headed out to Levy Bay again since the conditions were similar to my last successful outing (late afternoon with a falling tide).

Topwater bite was on again. I caught several slot reds (biggest 24") and a 23" trout. The trout was a real fatty and put up a hell of a fight with two 20 to 30 yard screaming runs. Caught everything on a full size Heddon One Knocker in Bone again.

I had several great hits that didn't hookup as well. I've not seen this before but I'm a rookie so any advice is appreciated. These were not misses; 3 separate times I saw the fish strike and swim away with the lure completely under the water. I am not aggressively setting the hook, simply watching the strike on a medium pace walk the dog action, watching the lure disappear and then giving a firm lift to the rod after a moment or two. Should I be giving a good set to a topwater lure?

Baja Bob
Post Warrior
Post Warrior

Re: 5/10 Back on the fish Levy Bay

Post by Baja Bob »

Thanks for sharing and the pictures you might want to try replacing your hooks
salty gator
Yaking Monster
Yaking Monster

Post by salty gator »

Nice report. Thanks. I never set a book until I feel the fish on. How hard depends on the line( more streach w mono) and rod action. Good luck, keep it up
You should have been here yesterday
Fishbaitbilly
Yaking Monster
Yaking Monster

Post by Fishbaitbilly »

Great fishing, Doc! Like Baja Bob said, hooks get dull pretty quick. Switch them out for 2X or 3X trebs. I like Owner stinger hooks with #5 hyper wire split rings. Keep up the good work!
fishinbug
Tall Teller
Tall Teller

Post by fishinbug »