Wanting an anchor trolley

New to kayak fishing, come on in for answers.

Moderators: Talltails, LCallaghan, jsuber

Fishing buddy

Wanting an anchor trolley

Post by Fishing buddy »

I'm new to kayaking and I'm wanting to set up my kayak. I bought an anchor trolley system and was wondering what side to put it on and WHY? I'm right handed.
bk
Tall Teller
Tall Teller

Re: Wanting an anchor trolley

Post by bk »

Didn't want to be rude and not reply, but I really can't provide much help, since I don't use an anchor trolley anymore. It was on the right side, I'm also right handed.
"i said flotation is groovy and easy. Even a jellyfish would agree to that." - jimi
Fishbaitbilly
Yaking Monster
Yaking Monster

Post by Fishbaitbilly »

I have anchor trolleys on both sides of my boat. I use it on the left side most of the time. I am right handed. That helps in handling fish on the side away from my ground line. I'm also kind of a weirdo. I use a bruce claw anchor, not a parking pole.
Fishing buddy

Post by Fishing buddy »

Thanks for replying. I've read up on it a little and everyone said its personal preference. I was wondering what was the reasons
people chose a side.
GoodCall
Post Warrior
Post Warrior

Post by GoodCall »

Just added trolleys to both sides...glad i did. The side i felt would be my side of choice actually ends up being an issue with where my paddle clips are. On recent trips I've needed both a stakeout pole AND an anchor to stay put, and the anchor line has gotten tangled around my paddle and paddle clips many times. It's nice to have the versatility of both sides, but definitely think about your layout and what the functionality will be like before picking just one side.
kikstand454
Tall Teller
Tall Teller

Post by kikstand454 »

I currently have mine on my left side, and this is because I felt that since I land my fish on my right side 90% or the time, I didn't want the pole or rigging there to be in the way.