Same lure, 3 colors

New to kayak fishing, come on in for answers.

Moderators: Talltails, LCallaghan, jsuber

madphilip
Yakaholic
Yakaholic

Same lure, 3 colors

Post by madphilip »

I have the same Yo-zuri pencil lure (walk the dog topwater) in three colors. I throw the bone color a lot, and usually catch fish on it. I've thrown the multi-color middle one some but with way less success. I've never thrown the translucent one, and am not sure when I should. This one has a bit of red on the bottom of the face the picture doesn't show.

My guess is the colorful one should be thrown in darker water and the translucent one in clear water in sunny conditions. I'm interested to see what others think on this. Should I just keep the bone one and throw the others out?

Thanks,
Philip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
cotton
Tall Teller
Tall Teller

Re: Same lure, 3 colors

Post by cotton »

I'm not a topwater expert, but I do throw them 50% of the time. As it warms up, that will move to 75%.

I use to only throw bone and swore it was the only color I needed in saltwater. The last two springs we have had very stained water and nature taught me a lesson. Its funny how you learn more when fishing is tough than when its easy.

I fish black when I get a chance to fish in the dark.
Chartreuse, pink and gold in stained waters.
Because we mostly have clear water, bone 75% of the time. What's weird is the folks over in PCB swear by the natural colors.

I find size and action matter even more than color(Keep it clean).
Big, loud, topwater lures when its really choppy. Super spooks, prop baits, etc..
Quite lures when its calm. Sebile stick shads, spook jrs, etc..

From your photo, I would only use the bone colored yozuri pencil and I would throw it only on calm days. I believe it would be comparable to a spook jr, with a little more glide. The other colors I wouldn't have enough confidence in.